History of Tokheim South Africa

Tokheim has been supplying products and services to the South African market since 1969 but sold their business in the region in 2004. Tokheim has retained a Distributor Agreement with Petro-Logic and the PSV Group since this time. Petro-Logic is a leading provider of dispensers, payments & systems solutions and service and maintenance to the fuel retail market in the region.

During the mid 1950’s a well known French oil company (Total) entered the South African market. At that time there were only two pump suppliers in the country. Total had good experience with Tokheim equipment internationally and decided to import 700 Model 300 service station pumps from the Tokheim subsidiary in Leiden, Holland. These were the first Tokheim pumps to be installed in South Africa.

In order to provide after sales support and ongoing sales, Tokheim appointed a local distributor, Holtung van Maasdyk as its representative in Southern Africa. A well-known company CJ Fuchs was commissioned to manufacture casing and chassis components and assembled the pumps at their Alberton facility.

Tokheim S.A. (Pty) Ltd. was incorporated in October 1965, and in September 1969 established their own assembly facility in a rented property in Electron south of Johannesburg. In 1974 Tokheim moved to its own premises in Kramerville north of the city. They out-grew these premises and re-located to new purpose built premises in Kya Sands in 1992.
Tokheim South Africa operated from July 1969 until August 2004 when an agreement was signed appointing Petro-Logic as Tokheim's exclusive distributor for Southern Africa.

Tokheim is delighted to announce that it is back in South Africa thanks to the acquisition of various assets of Petro-Logic from the PSV Group. Since 1st September 2012, Tokheim South Africa, the new name for the business, will retain the current experienced management and the existing dedicated and passionate employees. The new business will continue to operate from the head-office in Johannesburg, and three major hubs in Cape Town, Port Elizabeth and Durban.